Telephone: 01785 336464

What is RQF?

Teaching Assistant Qualifications Explained

Our home study Teaching Assistant Level 3 & Level 2 courses are Accredited by CACHE. They are RQF Qualifications and recognised within Primary & Secondary Schools throughout the UK.

If you are considering our qualifications then you will be looking to proceed in the following:

Teaching Assistant qualifications explained

NVQ’s have now been replaced by the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF). If you are looking to enrol on a Teaching Assistant course, you’ve probably seen many different courses for what is essentially the same qualification. It’s very confusing so hopefully the following information will help you.

Which Teaching Assistant courses are recognised?

If you want to be 100% certain your Teaching Assistant qualification is going to be recognised, you need to choose a course that’s on the RQF Framework. RQF qualifications are issued by OFQUAL (The Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) and replace the old NVQ system. IF YOU WANT A FULLY RECOGNISED QUALIFICATION, BE SURE TO CHOOSE AN (RQF) REGISTERED COURSE.

Do I choose a Level 2 or Level 3 course?

There are two different course levels for Teaching Assistants, level 2 and level 3. The difference between the levels is the amount of detail you are tested on. A level 3 course has far more questions in each assignment compared to a level 2 course and it will take you longer to complete it. The level 2 courses are ideal for any-one who hasn’t been in study for a long period of time or would like an easier course to complete. Both of our level 2 and level 3 courses are RQF registered and fully recognised by all schools in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Information on the new (RQF) qualifications for Teaching Assistants and support staff in schools

The Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) is the national credit transfer system for education qualifications in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. RQF qualifications are made up of units and credits and regulated by OFQUAL, the department that regulates qualifications, exams and tests in England and vocational qualifications in Wales and Northern Ireland. This means your course and your award is fully recognised in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Every unit and qualification in the RQF framework has a credit value based on the length of time it takes the average learner to complete the learning unit. Each unit and qualification also has its own level, between Entry level and level 8, to show how difficult it is. RQF credits can be transferred to other relevant courses, meaning if you decide to enrol on a higher level or different course, the existing unit(s) you have can be transferred to your new course. Local authorities in Scotland are looking for workers holding either an SVQ level 3 in Early Years Care and Education or an HNC in Childcare and Education.

Why are the qualifications changing?

The Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) is the new framework for creating and accrediting qualifications in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. It is expected that all vocational qualifications will have been accredited to the RQF by the end of 2010. This is the point that the RQF will replace the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) for vocational qualifications. All qualifications currently accredited to the NQF, including those for school support staff, have to be redesigned to meet the requirements of the RQF.

Does the introduction of the (RQF) mean that staff with existing qualifications should take the (RQF) versions as well?

No, there is no intention that anyone should retake qualifications as the result of the introduction of the RQF. The RQF qualifications are based on the same standards that underpin the current NVQs; what has changed is the way that qualifications are designed. The new structure makes it easier to add additional units as your role changes and develops without having to repeat training you have already done.

Are there any entry requirements for the qualifications?

There are no formal entry requirements for the qualifications. However, you will need to have sufficient language and literacy skills to be able to achieve the qualification you have chosen and be over the age of 16 years.

For further information, please call us on 01785 33 64 64